Boeuf Bourguignon & Spiced Pear

No I didn’t take a sudden liking to Bouef Bourgignon as a result of Julie & Julia. Its been one of my most favourite things to cook for years and years now. This is not only because I love the taste of the end product, but more so, the love and attention one puts into the hours it takes to cook. Don’t be scared, it takes a long time, but really isn’t difficult.

My favourite part of the ritual is when I put the bouquet garni together. I very much enjoy fresh herbs but since I can’t grow them to save my life (if anyone has suggestions on how to do this in a loft without a terrasse, I’d appreciate it) I often use dried. If I do happen to buy some for whatever reason, I end up freezing the remaining herbs and eventually forget about them. Hey, I live in the city and don’t cook all the time.

One thing I do a little different than the typical recipe, is I put all of the carrots and celery, along with the bouquet garni, in a cheesecloth. I place the cheesecloth in the middle of my Dutch oven, (see my upcoming post The Importance Of: Le Creuset) that way I don’t have to fish out these ingredients at the end. Some people like them, I don’t much care for them in this dish. Brown the beef, add the mushrooms and onions, wine and you’re good to go.

I serve this dish with baked pears. I find that its heavy as  is, so I often opt for a lighter side dish. I take traditional bosc pears, core them, stuff them with red chili peppers and of course, coat them with butter. The contrast of sweet and salty is fantastic.

I don’t usually order this at restaurants, but if you want to try it, go to La Palette. I’ve had it twice there and both times its melt in your mouth fantastic.

Things to Note: Make sure to dry the beef with a paper towel. Most recipes mention this step, but in case, I’m reminding you.

.

Leave a comment